2016!


772AE618-ED42-4402-B985-316A204A7F28

I’m going to be 100% honest, I’m relieved that 2015 is over. There were lots of highs and lots of lows, and it taught me a lot about myself and my various strengths and weaknesses. I know that the turning of a calendar year doesn’t necessarily indicate that something BIG will happen or change, but I do appreciate the opportunity to reflect on what was and will be.

I spent a lot of 2015 in a haze, due to travel, family stuff, and just figuring out what life in DC and at my job was really going to be like. I didn’t take care of myself the way that I know I should — mentally, physically, or spiritually. At the same time, I got to see so many new places, I had family and close friends get married, my first nephew was born, and the Crimson Tide is playing in the National Championship next week.

I think my “word” for 2016 is going to be “balance.” I need to be better at balancing my work and my life (ugh, I know how that sounds), but also at balancing my desire to sit and read all day with the need to fit in my pants. I need to be better about not letting my life go completely to hell when I travel for work (or for pleasure, on those rare occasions), and I need to better manage my desire to do all the things with my desire to also do none of them (#INFJproblems).

I did set some “resolutions” for the year, and I think they are entirely achievable:

A2698384-2063-42C8-9AB9-7D693B85579C

 

2016, let’s do this.

 

Leave a Reply

