#RealPrincessesofAtlanta: Scenes from my MLK Day 10K

IMG_0320
oh hey! I ran down that whole thing.

I know I’ve said it a few times, but my training for this half marathon I’m running in…oh, 30 days hasn’t been the best. I decided to rededicate myself a little bit this past weekend, just to see exactly how much pain I’d be in following Disney. I did a quick 30 min walk/run (using the intervals I think I’ll be using at WDW) on Saturday, followed by some Kettlebell core work, and yesterday, I did a 10K. I ultimately covered about 8 miles, according to RunKeeper, but I walked up to the Capitol building to start, and then I walked home once I finished the 10K.

It was a beautiful day in DC — in the mid 40s (one of the warmest days we’ve had in a while!) and sunny, starting about a mile into my run. Route wise, I started running at the Capitol building, with the intent of going down to the Mall to the Lincoln Memorial, looping over to Martin Luther King, Jr. memorial, then just heading back towards home in SE DC. I didn’t put that much thought into it, if I’m honest.

IMG_0303
so happy to be starting the run. roll tide forever.

Warning, lots of photos ahead. Snarky commentary also provided, free of charge.

IMG_0304
eventually, this building won’t have scaffolding. i don’t know that i believe this.

So, I walked up the hill from my apartment to the Capitol, figuring that was a good “warm up,” simulating the mile-long walk to the buses to the race at Disney. This was not at all motivated by the fact that I didn’t want to run uphill. Promise.

IMG_0311
IMG_0314 roll tide!
IMG_0315
Lincoln Monument from a distance. Those stairs are no joke.

IMG_0316

View from Abe back to the Washington Monument. #nofilter

IMG_0317

After leaving the Lincoln Memorial, I headed over to Independence Ave to see the MLK Jr. monument. I know there has been a lot of talk about how singularly unattractive the monument is, and I have to agree. It doesn’t seem to be the best memorial to such an important man in American history. That sad, I enjoy the concept of it, and I love the selected quotes they used.

Admittedly, I ran down to MLK so that I could instagram the above shot and a poignant, thoughtful quote – “I have the audacity to believe that peoples everywhere can have three meals a day for their bodies, education and culture for their minds, and dignity, equality, and freedom for their spirits.” I did keep running though — Partially around the Tidal Basin to see TJ, then back up the mall a little ways past the Capitol. Then home.

IMG_0319
TJ across a partially-frozen Tidal Basin

 

IMG_0324
I had no clue there was a carousel on the Mall. I was only 60% tempted to stop and ride it.

 

IMG_0326
Other side of the Capitol, with a beautiful blue sky!
IMG_0327
Saying hey to my girl RBG.

Today, I surprisingly don’t feel that bad — I guess I’m in better shape than I thought? I have a mental plan to get me to 12 miles before Princess Half, but I have no guarantees that any of it will be pretty.

IMG_0330
These stairs, a mere two blocks from home, really hurt.

 

Leave a Reply

