State of the Foot

Screen Shot 2014-09-15 at 9.24.33 AM

Hey! Look! Its my foot!

I know that I’ve moaned about it on here before, but I have seriously awful feet. When I was home a few weeks ago, I had another “foot pop,” and I went to see my ortho in Mobile about an hour later. A few xrays and a very painful session of moving Elizabeth’s foot in all kinds of unnatural positions, I was given a diagnosis: bad feet for running. I have very high arches, which means that my foot overcompensates and puts most of the pressure on the outside edge, which is why I often have pain there (and maybe a hidden stress fracture?). The circled bit on the xray above is a stress spur, which is where my foot is overcompensating for my bad arches by growing other bits of bone. Terrifying. Oh, and I also have Plantar Fasciitis in my left heel. I walk very well these days.

So where am I?

Some friends (Sudie, Liz, Lauren) and I have decided to do this 5k on Saturday morning. It is a free race followed by yoga, and it starts/ends at Whole Foods. I honestly think that sounds like a perfect morning. I was a little worried (um, I don’t want to be dead last) about the distance because I haven’t run 3.1 miles consecutively since…May? I know I can walk it easily, but it looks like the race is only 45 minutes, and again, I don’t want to be last.

Yesterday, I set out to give it a try, using my new interval method. I did a 5K in 33:35, which isn’t bad at all, and it leaves me optimistic that I’ll be fine on Saturday and that I’ll continue to get faster using this method. I won’t ramp up Disney Training until the end of October, and I think I’ll continue to run 2-3 miles, 2-3 times a week until then. Maybe this gradual increase will help my bad foot adapt? Or maybe it will give me more time to perfect my race walk?

Only time will tell.

One thought on “State of the Foot

Leave a Reply

