Week in Review: Reboot 1

IMG_5320

Reading list:

I have watched this about 13485 times this week.  #TeamPeeta

We can dance if we want to!

When I was home a few weeks ago, I was told that I really needed to wear more supportive shoes by my orthopedist. I love these from the Brooks Heritage Collection — should I bite the bullet?!

I was a history major in college, and all in all, I’m a pretty big history nerd. These two articles stood out this week:

  • Bill Gates is doing amazing things for education (and health) with the Gates Foundation, and I thought this NY Times profile on his US goals was fabulous.
  • SCOTTISH INDEPENDENCE VOTE. OMG, I was super nervous and emotionally invested in this (British history for life), and I’m relieved that the United Kingdom will remain, well, united. However, big changes are coming, and this roundup of reactions was great.

Football season is the best time of year, and I’m so happy that my Crimson Tide are (finally!) starting SEC play this week. Taff and I saw where someone had marked “Roll Tide” in the sidewalk, and since the pup is rocking houndstooth all season, obviously I had to take a picture. I know people have mixed feelings about Coach Saban (trust me, I lived in NOLA for three years), but this article was incredibly interesting to me. With so many negative things happening in sports right now, and I’m happy to see that some positive moves are being made. Also, how do I become one of Coach’s speakers?

Other highlights:

IMG_5303

While I was trapped at home during a 4 hour conference call and a presidential motorcade, I made funfetti biscotti. It was easy to make and absolutely delicious.

Watching Mindy Project (Mindy Lahiri is my spirit animal) with my friend EKM, accompanied by red wine and mac and cheese.

Making big (vague) professional moves.

Working at home 3/5 days this week. I truly believe that I would be 100x more productive if I could work in shorts and a tshirt every day. Get on that, corporate America.

IMG_5283
This was last week, but I’ll recreate it today.

Workouts:

Saturday: Special 100 Club only class at Pure Barre, using the newest torture method velcro bands. I haven’t been to PB in over a month, and this was a hard class to get started back on. Whew.

Sunday: Quick 2 mile walk/run as I try to deal with my foot issues

Monday: 30 minutes on the treadmill – 5 min warmup, 8 min hill intervals (5.0 – 10.0), 5 min walk, 8 min sprint intervals, 2 min cool down + NY Times 7 Minute Workout

Tuesday: Unexpected rest day due to Mindy and conference calls that ran over about 3 hours.

Wednesday: 20 min stairmaster + abs

Thursday: Blast900 with a friend bright and early in the morning

Friday: The Core (woof) from one of my favorite bloggers + Flywheel at the end of a long work week (I promise I’ll go)

Oh, and just because I can:

Leave a Reply

