VB6 28 Day Challenge: Week 2

Yesterday, I was having lunch with my friend Lauren, and I ended up telling her about VB6 (and I may have convinced her to try the challenge?). She asked me if it was hard, and after thinking about it for a little bit, I told her it was (at times) logistically challenging, but it was sustainable. I then told her how I felt better, I was less puffy, I had lost 4 pounds without a ton of exercise, and all the added benefits.

Last week (obviously) was a good week for this. I was in DC Monday-Tuesday, then home from Wednesday. I didn’t actually make it to the grocery store for a big stock up until Sunday, but I had a surprising amount of vegan-friendly food in my apartment. Small victories!

Monday:
B: Leftover WF whole wheat baguette with avocado smashed on top, en route to the airport.

L: Sweetgreen (of course) Chic P salad, which I think is my new favorite.

D: SHAKE SHACK! It had been a long day at work, and the evening was promising to be intense, so when I went out for a walk in Dupont Circle to find food, I could resist Shake Shack. Cheeseburger, french fries, blueberry lemonade. Yum. It may become a DC tradition. I also had a sugar cookie for dessert (thanks, Starbucks).

Workout: None, just steps

Tuesday:
B: Whole Foods hot bar on the way into work: vegan sweet potato + spinach hash topped with terayaki tofu. Surprisingly delicious.

L: Sweetgreen Chic P salad.

D: McDonald’s Bacon Chicken Ranch salad at National Airport (no tomato, no cheese). I told you Terminal 2 has less-than-awesome options.

S: Kettlecorn + several glasses of cabernet sauvignon during my four-hour flight delay.

Workout: None, just steps.

Wednesday:

B: English muffin + banana + peanut butter
L: terayaki tofu + Health Starts Here 4 for 4 box (I don’t remember the names of everything, but it was a lot of leafy greens)

D: This was the night of our Shamrock kickoff party, so I had a few glasses of white wine + pimento cheese with crackers + BBQ pork slider + a handful of caramel corn. Balanced?

Workout: And the theme continues with none, just steps.

Thursday: (aka clean out the freezer day)
B: I worked from home this morning, so I made myself (vegan) pancakes. Topped with peanut butter because that was all I had.

L: Left both my lunch and my wallet at home, and I had an afternoon full of meetings. Whoops. I had a Nature Valley granola bar + pretzels from the vending machine. The best I could do, especially since my drawer of snacks was pretty much empty.

D: Farro + feta cheese + WF mediterranean veggie mix + kalamata olives, with a side of sweet potato fries.

S: I made “chips” out of frozen WF corn tortillas and topped those with mozzarella cheese that was lingering in my fridge. I also had a dark chocolate + almond kind bar before I went to work out because I was ravenous.

Workout: 30 min elliptical

Friday:
B: 7 almonds before Flywheel. Peanut butter + quaker rice cakes + banana + coffee for Breakfast.

L: 2 Mediterranean Veggie burger patties from my freezer (not my favorite recipe at all) with sauteed veggies and mustard.

D: 3 Publix chicken fingers + frozen sweet potato fries + green beans.

S: At work? Pretzels from the vending machine + mustard. At home? Popcorn.
Workout: 45 min Flywheel

Saturday:
B: I had a few almonds before Pure Barre, and then an english muffin with peanut butter between Pure Barre and Flywheel.

L: I went to Whole Foods after my double-decker work out, and I had a Kale Berry Blast (kale + dates + strawberries + blueberries + raspberries) as I wandered around the store. For lunch, I picked up chicken fried tofu and a raw kale salad (with almonds + dried cranberries). I also had some of the Mediterrandean edamame salad with whole wheat pita. There was a vegan almond cookie somewhere that afternoon (I was starving).

D: Birthday dinner for my friend Maggie at Taqueria del Sol: chips + guac, fried chicken taco (no tomato), 1/2 carnitas taco, several margaritas. At her party, I had a few bites of key lime pie cake frpm Piece of Cake (yum) and a few solo cups of Corona Light.

S: late night snack on the way home from the birthday: egg + chorizo breakfast taco.
Workout: Pure Barre + 60 min Flywheel

Sunday:
B: Sprouted english muffin + peanut butter + 1/2 banana + coffee

L: True Food Kitchen! I had the brown rice terayaki bowl with tofu. Delicious.

D: Fried eggs + Trader Joe’s scallion pancakes + leftover green beans + sparkling water

S: WF Vegan Almond Cookie
Workout: None, just steps. I was going to go to Pure Barre after church, but I ended up having to work.

Leave a Reply

