Happenings

Whew. I finally feel like I can breathe again. And now that I can breathe again, it means that I have time to blog again. I didn’t anticipate being so silent here, but life has been absolutely crazy over the last few weeks and this obviously fell by the wayside. So here are just a few things that have been happening:

20140718-082049-30049944.jpg

I’ve been in DC for work a fair amount (as in 4 days last week and 2 this week), which has been busy and exciting. Also, humid. I walked to work every day that I was there, and eventually, it looked and felt like I was swimming there. Most days, I’m stuck in the office pretty late, but I was able to make time to see some attractions on a walk last week, and I’ve been able to see friends for dinner. I’m pretty sure my domestic travel is going to pick up over the next few months, so it will be fun (and exhausting?) to get to learn the ins and outs of DC while still living in ATL.

20140718-082215-30135262.jpg

My favorite place in the whole world is the camp that I attended in western North Carolina. Last weekend was visitation, so one of my camp BFFs and I made the trip up there to see old friends and campers/relax in the mountains. I was touch and go about heading up there because work was so crazy, but in the end, I’m so glad that I did (even though I was glued to my BlackBerry a fair amount of time). It was so nice to get away and recharge. We didn’t have any set aganda, and everyone (inlucding Taffy) loved that. I was able to take the pup up with me, and she loved all the new smells and all the new people telling her how cute she is. All in all, fabulous weekend, and as always, it made me wonder if I can be a camp counselor full time.

20140718-082256-30176533.jpg

Yes. Even after all of my myriad foot issues this spring, I’m taking the plunge and becoming a half-marathoner (I hope). I’ve been planning on doing this race with Sudie and Cara for a while, and two other friends – Berkeley and Liz – have signed up as well! I’m actually doing the 5K on Friday and the Half on Sunday, and I’m channeling Jessie Spano about the whole thing: both excited and scared. I am going to start running again next week, and VERY SLOWLY increase my mileage. I think this is the best bet for me, especially given my right foot’s need to rebel.

More than anything, I want this to be fun. These girls are some of my good friends, and with the exception of Cara, this is our first long distance race. We are planning on making a trip of it — hopefully with a visit to the parks and to Hogwarts. One of the biggest priorities was obviously naming our team and determining our hashtag. We’re traveling down to Disney as the “Real Princesses of Atlanta,” and I couldn’t be more thrilled about all the fun we are going to have in the months ahead.

20140718-082256-30176268.jpg

I know I’ve mentioned on here a few times that I’m involved in the Junior League here in ATL and that my slate for next year is being number 2 to the lovely lady pictured here for Shamrock ‘N Roll, a 5k/10k we host annually in March. Up until this point, its been just us + the other people on Fund Development involved, but we had a welcome party for our committee on Wednesday night at Caroline’s house. It was great to get to meet some of the people I’ll be working with this year, and it made me super excited for all the things that we are going to do in the next year!

 

20140718-082256-30176411.jpg

I have been a total slacker recently when it comes to exercise. Since the Peachtree, I have worked out three times. Last Monday night (um, as in July 7), a colleague and I went to the Nike Training Club bootcamp in Georgetown. I loved it, and it definitely pushed me out of my comfort zone. I can see it becoming a regular part of my routine if I’m in DC more. Best part? Completely free. Since then, I accidentally took a 10-day break from exercise. I was working all the time, I was sick, I was out of town — myriad excuses. I finally forced myself to do some ellipticalling last night while I finished my book, and I went to Flywheel this morning. I hadn’t been in a month, and I probably haven’t worked out hard in that amount of time either. To be honest, I was afraid that I would not make it through in one piece, but remarkably, I beat my previous torq score by 13 points, and I still had some juice when class ended. I can’t believe it, but it was nice to see I haven’t lost all my fitness in the past few weeks, and it makes me excited to jump back into training for something.

3 thoughts on “Happenings

  1. Girl, you have been Busy with a capital B! Love that you are training for the Princess Half though. I’ve done other Disney races before and you will LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

