VB6: July Challenge

Screen Shot 2014-06-05 at 3.23.45 PM

So, a million years ago in May, I read VB6 on a plane. At the exact time I read it, I was eating all kinds of things that Mark Bittman espouses against: processed food, animal products, empty calories (I had an egg white sandwich from Einstein Bros. and a bag of chips, along with no regrets). This was in the middle of wedding season, and I knew that my only health goal during that crazy stretch could be to exercise as planned and try not to eat/drink too much. Obviously that didn’t go as planned.

I was okay with exercise, but it was hard to do on the weekends that I was out of town. I had no motivation, for the most part, but I could make myself do it. I now know that one of the reasons that I was feeling sluggish and off for other reasons (ahem, no iron), but my diet (as in foods I eat) needed to be cleaned up. I pretty much ate what sounded good, and I ended up eating out a lot. I also drank more than I normally do, which is obviously not the healthiest behavior. I ended up with pants that were snugger than I liked and a puffy face. Really not a good look for anyone.

I tried not to stress too much about it during June, simply because there wasn’t a ton I could do about it. A few weeks ago, though, I started thinking about how I could get back on track (still trying to do that whole weight loss thing), and I couldn’t help but think about VB6. I’ve worked really hard to not think of weight loss as a diet but as a lifestyle change, and VB6 definitely fits that. Within the book, Bittman challenges people to follow the plan for 28 days and then assess how you’re feeling.

I like the way that its structured. You eat vegan before 6 PM, and then you can eat what you want for dinner. There isn’t a strict meal plan (though there are suggestions), the only rules are no animal products until 6 PM.

I tend to eat the same thing for breakfast/lunch everyday anyways and then mix it up with dinner, so this idea works for me. Its pretty self-explanatory, but there will be some changes that I have to make: no eggs for breakfast, no cheese on my lunch time salad, other things like that. I’ve long said that I could be a vegetarian, and now I’m going a step further than that (for 2/3 of the day, at least).

I know that I will feel better doing this. I learned during the Cleanse earlier this year that my body does way better without dairy (and likely gluten), so that’s something to look forward to. I’m going to have to make sure that I get enough protein, but I feel like that’s something that I’ll be able to track pretty well with MyFitnessPal.

I’ll be starting my 28 days on Monday — going to give myself through the weekend of the Fourth, and then it begins. I’m not planning on posting everyday like I did during the cleanse, but likely a weekly round up of what I ate/how I felt/etc. I’m excited to start.

And obviously, like my homegirl Jessie Spano, a little scared.

2 thoughts on “VB6: July Challenge

Leave a Reply

