So Tired

This is not on point, but it is funny.

I know I’ve alluded to it a few times over the last couple of months – how blech I feel, how unmotivated I am, etc etc – and I’m happy (?) to say there is a reason for it.

For the past few weeks, I’ve attributed my lack of energy to what can charitably be considered “burning the candle at both ends.” Lots of travel, increased work responsibilities, etc, etc. However, my busy season also coincided with a change in my vitamin/supplement regimen after a March blood test showed that I was creeping back into iron deficiency. All I wanted to do was sleep.

Like many girls, I’ve had problems with being anemic off and on since I was a teenager. There have been many treatments tried, but when I had just graduated from college, my wonderful doc and I realized it wasn’t just anemia – my body doesn’t absorb iron the way that it’s supposed to. Thanks for nothing.

Luckily, we realized this before I completely ran out of blood — I had four pints, normal humans have 9-12 on a good day. Cue the emergency blood transfusion, multiple iron infusions, and an attempt to figure out how to circumvent that darn small intestine. For years, I managed with multiple daily doses of Flintstones vitamins with extra iron, coupled with vitamins c, d, and B12. This spring, that management stopped being as effective. When I went for my standard iron check up in March, my doc here (different doc) decided to change my regimen, and to make a long story short, it made me feel awful AND it didn’t work.

I went back for follow up blood work last week, and it confirmed what my gut was telling me: I was iron deficient. The thing with this, at least for me, is that I don’t know how bad I’m feeling until I feel better.

I had an appointment with the hematologist yesterday, and we scheduled an “emergency” iron infusion for Monday. Nothing sounds more fun after a weekend of beer drinking/karaoke/wedding debauchery than 8 hours hooked to an IV. My life is a party.

I’m hoping that this will make me feel better — or at least, not as bone crushingly exhausted. The effects are pretty immediate, so I’ll know next week-ish. Fingers crossed all goes well and that all pieces of the puzzle side into place.

4 thoughts on “So Tired

Leave a Reply

