Peachtree Road Race: Let the Training Begin

20140325-085102.jpg

Well, technically, the training began a week or so ago, but I had so many things to write about (um, hello, PB 100 Club is way more exciting than letting you know that I ran 2 miles. Trust me). However, the Peachtree is quickly approaching (OMG, how is it already the end of May?!?), and I figured if I was ever going to write about it in a timely manner, now was the time.

Several factors led me to the decision to create my own training plan, which is a combination of Hal Higdon, Runner’s World, and a few others I found on the internet. As I know I’ve said before, I’m not really a runner — I still feel like I’m pretending half the time. That meant that I wanted to take a lot of time building up my cardiac strength, especially since I fell off the wagon a little bit with exercise this spring. I also have chronic knee/foot problems in my right leg (so many problems), and so my uncle orthopedic surgeon said that not only should I add distance slowly, I should really do cardiac cross-training once a week.

So, here is the basic plan:

M – Run

T – Cardiac Cross Training 

W – Run

Th – Rest

F – Cardiac Cross Training

S/S – “Long” run

with Pure Barre sprinkled in whenever I can make it work with my schedule. Obviously, things get switched around with travel and meetings — those things that I can’t really help. Also, when I do things like I did yesterday and oversleep before my early morning flight to DC. I had every intention to get up and do my run (2 miles) before showering and heading to the airport; that didn’t happen, but luckily, I woke up in time to make my flight. As a result, I’ll run today. The weekends, with their wedding travel, have been the hardest to fit in, but I’m making it work.

Tuesdays cross training, I’ll likely just stick to the elliptical/cross trainer/stairmaster found at my neighborhood LA Fitness. Tomorrow, however, I’m going to try a new form of Friday cross training: Flywheel. From the web site:

The Flywheel indoor cycling ride includes climbs and descents, while working arms with weighted bars. It’s an amazing escape that challenges your body and relaxes your mind.

Our music playlists are choreographed to each class and make the time fly.

Our instructors lead the way, suggesting target resistance levels and RPM’s to strive for. But YOU decide exactly what’s right for you by controlling the technology on your bike. And your performance stats are made available in your private account on our website.

 I have several friends who love it, and I’m a mix of excited and terrified to try it.

So far, training has gone well, and my “long run” this weekend is 3.5 miles. It is the longest I’ve run in a while, but I feel confident that I can do it. If the weather is nice, I’m planning on going to Piedmont Park for the first time this year to do it.

2 thoughts on “Peachtree Road Race: Let the Training Begin

Leave a Reply

