Wedding Season

At this point, I consider going to weddings my part-time job — except that it doesn’t pay. I wish I was joking, but I’m really not. I’m not that surprised I have that many – I’m 27, from Alabama, college in Tennessee, law school in Louisiana, and camp in North Carolina. It is just that season of my life.*

I’ve always had one or two a year; in more recent years, up to four or five. That’s not that big a deal. 2014, however, is the year that most the weddings I’m attending are basically one on top of each other.

April 26: Caroline and Will, Mobile, AL
May 3: Campbell and Hawk, Mobile, AL
May 17: Sarah and Will, Sewanee, TN
May 24: Blair and Chris, Huntsville, AL
June 7: Stephanie and Jeff, Charlotte, NC
June 14: Courtney and Johnny, Vail, CO
June 21: George and Alissa, Dearborn, MI
July 5: Arly and Paul, Ashland, OR

I jokingly told some ATL friends that I’d see them in July, and it wasn’t really a joke. I’m pretty much only home Monday mornings – Thursday nights (if you don’t count travel days) for the next eight or nine weeks. It is defintely helping with my 2014 goal to travel more? I’m super excited, but also incredibly anxious about how all of this is going to go. What am I going to do with Taffy (she’s got pupsitters, don’t worry)? When am I going to exercise? When will I do laundry? Can I pay someone to do my laundry? Will I meet my own Mr. Wedding?

More than anything, though, I’m so happy to be able to take the time to celebrate with my friends as the summer starts. Weddings have become like quasi-reunions for all those people that I love and don’t get to see very often, and I get to see some of my absolute favorite people in the coming weeks, sometimes for the first time in years. Years, people. I don’t know when I’ll see them again — the next round of weddings, most likely — so it should be awesome. I’ll have this space to talk about it, too, which is even better. Why?

JK. Jk. Mostly.

Last weekend, I went to my hometown to celebrate Caroline, a sorority sister/neighbor, and her fiance, Will. The wedding was at her grandparents house, and for me, it was the best of both worlds. I got to see some fab friends from college and some of my favorite Mobile folks, while enjoying stout drinks and delicious mini-grilled cheeses. [For serious, they had a to-order pimento cheese grilled bar. When I make my gajillions, I want someone on-call to make grilled cheeses on order.]

Here are some photos from the weekend:

*At this moment, it looks like 2015 could be the same: I’ve had 4 friends get engaged since Tax Day.

20140501-112535.jpg

20140501-112549.jpg

20140501-112557.jpg

20140501-112608.jpg

20140501-112618.jpg

20140501-112627.jpg

20140501-112638.jpg

6 thoughts on “Wedding Season

  1. Our wedding season starts in June. Last year was our crazy year and I’m reeeaalllyyy hoping it will slow down from here on out. But we’ll see!!

Leave a Reply

