Whirlwind

This has been the longest week that I can remember in a while. Friends in town,* an engagement party,* a work conference, a 6-hour detour to DC to hear the NATO Secretary General speak (#casual), a JLA budget meeting, and the Toast of the Tour. Thank goodness its Friday, indeed.

This week, I volunteered was voluntold I’d be helping out with a Global Health Security conference at work. I didn’t really mind because my research is currently on global health security and US bilateral agreements (I know, I know. I’m so cool), but it made my work days really long. I have another visitor coming next week, and so between arranging her schedule, working as a room monitor, attending sessions, and staying on top of my normal day-to-day activities, I worked most daylight hours. It was an interesting conference, though it wasn’t really geared towards what I needed/wanted, but I did learn a fair amount.

In the midst of my GHS week, I hopped up to Washington, DC, for a meeting. I left at 720 AM, and my return flight was at 3 PM so that I could make a JLA budget meeting (again, proving my coolness).

20140321-102935.jpg
This week’s #selfieWednesday shot: 545 AM at the Atlanta airport, stoked for 6 hours in DC
20140321-102950.jpg
Ambassador Melanne Verveer, executive director of the GIWPS, and NATO Secretary General Anders Fogh Rasmussen.

More excitingly, while I was in DC, I was able to go over to Georgetown to see NATO Secretary General Anders Fogh Rasmussen receive his Hillary Rodham Clinton Award for Advancing Women in Peace and Security. His acceptance speech was fantastic (if you want highlights, just let me know), but I really appreciated his thoughts about the current crisis in Ukraine. I know that the big news right now is about the missing Malaysia Airlines flight, and I’m definitely fascinated by that — WHERE IS IT?!? — but it should be on the annexation of the Crimea. Its getting a little close to how WWII started for me, and I don’t know why it isn’t the focus of more attention. Well, I have my theories, but they are impolitic to put on the internet. From his speech: “The recent events in Ukraine have shown that we cannot take our security and stability for granted. We have to stand up for our common values.” He says its the most serious security crisis since the end of the Cold War, and I can’t help but agree.

20140321-103009.jpg
Lauren and me, being twins at the Toast of the Tour party

And now to the opposite end of the spectrum: Toast of the Tour! My Junior League placement this year was on the Tour of Kitchens committee, specifically the Silent Auction. Tour of Kitchens is another one of our fundraisers, and its a tour of 14 designer kitchens around ATL. I attended last year, and this year I’ll be working. Last night was the kick off party – the Toast of the Tour – and we were there to work. I got there after a long work day, around 4:30 PM. [Sidenote: weird to be in cocktail clothes at 4 PM. I stood out a little bit when I stopped to get coffee on the way] The auction ended at 9:30, and I was out of there by about 10:25. Highlights included the macaroni and cheese, spending time with the committee members that I know, and laughing at some of the auction items.**

This weekend, I have nothing planned besides a few Pure Barre classes and taking the Taffmonster to get a bath. I’m so excited to get to do nothing for a few days. I’m too old for this. Or, maybe, this is more true:

and my personality is just to stay at home, hang out with the dog, and be lame. I’m completely okay with that.

*technically, this was last weekend, but I’m including it in my long week round up because a) still in the Saturday-Saturday week; b) didn’t get to “recharge” last weekend the way I normally do; c) its my blog, and I do what I want.

**Full disclosure: one of my friends (well, her mother) won a seminar on how to get married within a year that was bundled with a gift basket from Vixen vodka. I’m so excited that I’ll get to participate in that.

3 thoughts on “Whirlwind

Leave a Reply

