Taffy’s First 5K [Shamrock N Roll 2014]

Alternate title: That time I walked a race (well, all but the last quarter mile)

20140311-072153.jpg

I know I already posted this picture yesterday, but it is the only picture I have of Sunday just too cute not to repeat it. Last Sunday was the Shamrock ‘N Roll 10K/5K put on by the Junior League of Atlanta.

Full disclosure: my slated position for next year is Shamrock Chair-Elect, meaning that I’ll be running (haha pun alert!) the race in 2016. I had intended to run it last year, but I broke my foot about 2 weeks before the race; the boot and I did not participate (sadly). So, this was my only chance to actively participate until 2017 – a year that seems super far away at this juncture. Even if I wasn’t able to run like I hoped, I am so happy that I was able to do the race at all.

I initially planned on running the 10K, and I even made it about 3 weeks into training (I think my longest run was 3 miles). Then, life got in the way. I’ve talked about this before, so I won’t dive into it again. So, I mentioned a while ago that I was planning on running the 5K, and I was pumped. I knew I’d be able to finish, and I’d have time to safely build up my mileage — all for Nantucket in October! The next weekend, I brought home Taffy Peanutbutter Bathmat, there was another ice storm, and I decided that I’d walk the Shamrock with my puppy.

Needless to say, what we did last Sunday was not a vigorous workout. However, it was a really fun one. Taffy walked with two of her puppy friends, and I walked with some of my human friends. She did great — I was a little nervous because our normal walk is only about 2 miles, so this was a bit more. I figured if she couldn’t go any further, I’d just carry her and consider it an arm workout. At about the 2.5 mile marker, she got a burst of speed, and we ended up running in the last .3 miles. So proud of her!

We finished in about 54 minutes, which is far from my fastest 5K time, but I think its a wonderful PR for her! We spent the rest of the day lazing about/eating Chipotle (me)/barking in our sleep (Taffy). All in all, fabulous day at the races.

IMG_0306

This is us Sunday afternoon. I caught up on my reading, she caught up on her sleep.

4 thoughts on “Taffy’s First 5K [Shamrock N Roll 2014]

Leave a Reply

