#nomorerabbitfood

20140306-104121.jpg

Last week sometime (I think it was Wednesday, and I’m pretty sure I had just shared this article), my cousin Molly and I had this conversation. I immediately took super fancy horribly glared photos of my computer screen because I was inspired. Well, at least inspired enough to challenge myself.

As someone who has made some progress with losing weight and still manages to eat things like pizza on the reg, I realized that part of this is because I eat “rabbit food” a fair amount of the time. Like, pretty much everyday at lunch : baked chicken, roasted broccoli, and roasted butternut squash. Don’t get me wrong, it doesn’t taste bad, but it’s gotten boring and repetitive over last, I don’t know, 8 months or so.

I’ve definitely fallen into a food rut. I’ll admit it. Most workdays I eat the same breakfast and the same lunch; I make dinner once or twice a week and then eat the leftovers. Well, no more. I want to work on making more interesting lunches and I want to try at least one new recipe a week. I don’t know if eating habits are like exercise (its been shown that you have to shake things up to see results), but I’m going to operate under the assumption that they are.

Also, I don’t want to only make “healthy” recipes — that’s limiting and a little depressing. Something that has kept me on the weight-loss train is that I’m not on a “diet.” I’ve made some healthier lifestyle changes, but I still like cheese. And red wine. And cookies. And chicken fingers. Need I go on? I don’t mind trying to healthify recipes (just like Sudie); in fact, I embrace the challenge — that’s the whole spirit of my whole “no more rabbit food” vow.

This week, I’ve made my  new recipes – black bean and sweet potato burgers for dinner, and a delicious kale, chicken, and coconut salad for lunches – but I can’t wait to continue with this. Some of my mental guidelines:

  • Less meat. I’m trying to reduce my meat consumption for a variety of reasons, and I’d like to get out of the routine of having chicken for lunch. I don’t think I could fully embrace Mark Bittman’s Vegan Before 6 plan, but I’d like to try being a vegetarian before 6, at least for a little while. I like eggs a lot, and they are a fabulous breakfast that’s filling.
  • Keep eating things like sugar, cheese, gluten mindfully
  • Go out of my comfort zone. I’d love to try cooking with new spices and new ingredients. I’m pretty comfortable in the kitchen, but I tend to stick with tried and true ingredients/dishes. The point of all this is to expand my culinary horizons.
  • Don’t go off the rails, health-wise. Dinner tends to be the biggest meal of the day for me* and its also when I tend to get the most creative. My dinners average around 600 calories, and I’d like to stay close to that.

As I mentioned, I’ve already started this, and I have to say I’m already more excited about my meals a few days in. Now, I just need to stop looking for new and fun recipes and get back to work.

*Yes, I know this shouldn’t be the case, but there is only so much I can change about myself at once.

6 thoughts on “#nomorerabbitfood

  1. Love your outlook!! I found it really easy to go veg, but I truly think it’s not for everyone! The only sustainable eating plan is one that makes you happy!

Leave a Reply

