The Cleanse – Day 1

1 down, 9 to go! The first three days of the cleanse are considered Phase 1, and the goal is “external oleation.” No, I had no clue what that meant either. According to my very fancy packet, this oleation, or administration of oils, grabs all of the fat-soluble impurities in the body so they can be eliminated during Phase 2. I’ve already messed this up a little bit, whoops. I’m supposed to shower first thing in the AM after doing a body coating with the oil included in the packet, but I didn’t shower today until mid afternoon, and I only remembered about the oil once I was already in the shower. I blame George Washington. You’re also supposed to start the morning with oil pulling, which sounds like using “pure” oil (like sesame or coconut) as a mouthwash to get the impurities out of your mouth. Again, forgot this step, but I’ll do it in the morning.

I don’t really feel like anything exciting is happening yet. I was able to go to the gym for a quick run, and then I went to Pure Barre, so my workouts went as planned. I did get sleepy around 330, but that could also be because I was sitting in my favorite chair and I didn’t have anything that I had to do. I guess I’ll find out tomorrow.

So, what did I eat?

Breakfast:
IMG_2574

2 handfuls kale, 1/4 cup red onion, and 2 eggs scambled

Cleansing tea. This actually tasted really good, but it is a loose tea and I was dodging particles the entire time I drank it. Just ordered a tea infuser mug from Amazon, and it should be here Wednesday. That will make this much easier.

Lunch:

IMG_2576

I was running late on eating lunch (gym, Pure Barre, grocery store), and its supposed to be the biggest meal of the day. I forgot to buy eggs at Kroger (because I’m brilliant), and so I stopped at Whole Foods to pick those up and grab something for lunch. Let me tell you, everything pre-made has one of the “forbidden” foods in it. I finally chose a grilled chicken breast (that I paired with some guac that needed to be eaten, the summer kale salad, and the California quinoa salad (I ate around the peppers). It was yummy. Just ask Taffy (#photobomb).

Snack:

Had an apple with sun butter while I was doing food prep for the rest of the week! Also, an Arden’s Garden juice – Paradise, which has beets, apples, cucumber, kale, ginger, lemon. I know you’re heartbroken I didn’t take pictures. Yum.

Dinner:

IMG_2579

I made Domesticate Me’s Quinoa “Falafel” for dinner — delicious! I’m sure it would be even better with the yogurt-tahini sauce, but that is a no-no right now. Served with the avocado relish (no tomatoes, but that isn’t a cleanse thing) and sautéed spinach for some extra greens.

I followed up with the Golden Milk recommended by Anna to end the day. Its a cup of hot coconut milk (or any other nut milk – coconut is just what I had), mixed with ghee and turmeric paste. I don’t know that I’ve ever had turmeric before this, I’ll be honest. It was…odd. I don’t really like it, I’ll be honest — there was something about the texture and the smell, but I’ll do it. Maybe I’ll get used to it?

I used MFP today, just to see how this compared to my normal eating/I can’t help myself. Today was pretty average for what I normally eat, which is good. I know the purpose of the cleanse isn’t to lose weight, but it would be a nice bonus?

Leave a Reply

