home again, home again, jiggity, jig, jig.

I’M BACK! Sorry for the radio silence this last week, but I’ve been busy surviving an ice storm, having my mother in town, dealing with multiple subcontractors,  and moving back into my apartment! Yes, you read that correctly, I’m home again (in case the title of this post didn’t give that away). Not that there haven’t been bumps along the way.

My wonderful mother came up on Sunday to help me move back into the apartment/intimidate the subcontractors. I keep getting asked by the people in the main office/construction people what class I’m in at Emory, and while it is flattering to look young, it isn’t the most helpful when you are trying to browbeat ask nicely for work to be completed promptly. So, instead of just mentioning that I’m a grown-up lawyer, I asked my mother to come “scare” them into submission.

So, Mama came back up on Sunday, we spent all day Monday working around painters/people installing baseboards, etc. On the way to Costco to buy a new TV (another casualty of the polar vortexing), Mama looked over, burst out laughing, and said without irony, “Your life is in shambles.” #highpoint

Tuesday, I had a mandatory ethics training for work, but I made it back to the apartment in time before the snow/ice/shutdown of Atlanta happened.

(In all seriousness, there has been a lot of blame going around about this, and I know personally how I feel about it. This is a great article about how Atlanta blew it, and why not to blame just one or two people. cough, cough Al Roker)

Carpet went down on Tuesday, then we spent Wednesday/Thursday/parts of Friday moving back in, having furniture cleaned, cleaning out my closets, reorganizing my life. I’m settled back in. Its glorious.

A few other high (?) points?

  • Heater abruptly stopping working on Tuesday, during the coldest part of the day. I spent a good portion of the morning sitting on top of the (running) dryer, bundled up (the carpet was going down, and there was no other place to sit) until it was fixed.
  • Going to a grocery store on Tuesday right as the snow started. Never again. I thought I stocked up well — wine, guacamole, popcorn, chicken fingers, waffles — but the forecast at that point said that we’d be able to get out of the house on Wednesday. Lies.
  • Driving down an ice slue (should have taken main roads. Duh, Elizabeth) Wednesday to get lunch at Bantam and Biddy (delicious, as always) and more food at the (thankfully open) Publix.
  • Fridge breaking on Tuesday afternoon and turning my deck into a “walk-in refrigerator” until Thursday when it was able to be fixed. I think I was the only person in Atlanta to buy ice during the ice storm. Of course, when the new fridge was delivered, the doors were on it backwards, so that’s a fun new challenge until they can be fixed.
  • Eating chicken fingers for three straight days. They are my favorite food (not even kidding), but I don’t think I can eat one again for a while. Good thing, since the clean eating prep for the cleanse starts on Monday (diet starts Monday), and I will be following through with the cleanse on February 15. More on that later.

Leave a Reply

